11 Sneaky Non-Vegan Food to Look for
You’ve ditched cow’s milk; meat has been replaced by falafel and chocolate? We hardly know her.
Firstly, congratulations on making the shift into a more plant-based lifestyle! Quite often, we fall into an omnivore lifestyle due to our parents, or due to the availability of meat and cheese. We grow up being taught that cow’s milk is good for our bones, that we need to eat meat for every meal, and yoghurt is a healthy snack. Changing our mindset and learning new ways to eat is a huge accomplishment.
However, a lot of household products surprisingly, aren’t vegan. Due to the sneaky nature of manufacturers, ingredients can be listed under many different names. It can lead you to believe the product is vegan, when in fact it’s not!
Some common foods that surprisingly aren’t vegan include:
- White Sugar
- Apple Juice
- Worcestershire Sauce
- Most Jelly Sweets
- Some Soy Sauce
- Some Breakfast Cereals
- Some Potato Chips
- Pesto Sauce
- Some Alcohols
The list is extensive and surprising! Many of the items listed above have animal derivatives, such as Lard, Gelatin, or Lanolin. These items, whilst not directly from animals, are made from animal products and are therefore not plant-based. Make sure to read up on any sneaky ingredients, and if you need some help, download a Vegan Scanner app like ‘Is It Vegan?’ to scan every barcode, before buying.
Remember, it’s not always possible to remove every animal product from your diet. Make sure you do what is accessible and financially available to you.
Written by - Rosie Fay
If You Are On Iphone, Android Or Your Desktop Computer, Go To Your Facebook Profile RIGHT NOW And Search "GaiaTribe Community" And Request To Join!